The best PEO for <em>startups</em> in 2026
Published prices, startup discounts, minimum headcounts and the exit plan nobody talks about until the renewal hits.
A PEO (professional employer organization) becomes co-employer of your US staff. It runs payroll and state tax filings and gets you into large-group health plans you could not buy on your own at 8 people. Short answer: Justworks if you want a published price and fast setup, Rippling PEO if you already plan to leave the PEO at 50 people, Remote if your hiring plan crosses a border.
The ranking is editorial: a sponsored spot is always labeled on its card, and no affiliate link changes a score.
The right PEO for your startup
6 PEOs for startups, side by side
The middle column answers the question that sinks startups a year in: is there a minimum headcount? Prices are from official pages, service fees only, before salaries and premiums.
| Best for | Minimum headcount | Free plan | Team size | Visit | ||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Justworks | Best for seed-stage startups | None published | 4.4/5 | $79 or $124/employee/mo | — | 2 to 50 US employees | Visit → |
| 2 | Rippling PEO | Best if you plan to leave | Not stated | 4.2/5 | Custom quote | — | Fast growth toward 50+ | Visit → |
| 3 | Remote | Best for global hiring | None published | 4.1/5 | PEO from $99/employee/mo | — | US entity plus hires abroad | Visit → |
| 4 | Deel | Most flexible | None published | 4.0/5 | PEO from $125/employee/mo | — | Mixed global teams | Visit → |
| 5 | TriNet | Best for Series A and beyond | Required, not published | 3.9/5 | Custom quote | — | Stable post-Series A teams | Visit → |
| 6 | ADP TotalSource | Best for ADP payroll users | Ask in writing | 3.7/5 | Custom quote | — | Startups already on ADP | Visit → |
Prices read on official vendor pages in 2026, service fees only. Scores match our other PEO and EOR rankings.
Is your tool missing from this page? Email us: hello@hackceleration.com
How we ranked these PEOs
Most "best PEO for startups" lists quote one or two prices, some of them out of date, and say nothing about minimums or what happens when you leave. We compared each provider through a startup's lens: can you sign at 3 people, what does it cost at 5 and 15, is there a startup discount, and how hard is the exit at 50. Prices and terms come from official vendor pages; pain points come from customer reviews and founder accounts.
Scores are the same as in our other PEO rankings, so a provider keeps one value across the site. The rank follows startup fit: TriNet scores close to Remote but drops for its unpublished minimum.
- Ease of setupTime to first payroll and prerequisites: bank account, reserve, contract length.25 %
- Value for moneyPublished price per employee, real startup discounts, and lock-ins hidden behind promotions.25 %
- Fit for small teamsNo minimum headcount, and a clean exit when the startup grows.20 %
- Benefits and complianceHealth plans you can offer, state coverage and IRS certification status.20 %
- SupportSupport quality from customer reviews. Weighted lower because public reviews are very scattered.10 %
No affiliate link changes a score or a rank.
Startup discounts and PEO promotions change often. Get the changes before your renewal
Justworks
Justworks is the PEO you can budget for before the sales call. Basic costs $79 per employee per month, Plus costs $124, and there is no base fee on top. Plus is the tier that opens the group health plans, and it is the one most startups end up on, because benefits are what you are really buying to compete with bigger companies for engineers. At 5 employees that is $620 a month in service fees on Plus, at 15 employees $1,860.
Some comparison posts still quote an older $109 price for Plus, so check the number on your quote. Field feedback is split. On the big B2B software review sites, Justworks holds 4.6 out of 5 across more than 1,100 reviews, mostly for the time it saves a founder doing HR alone. Consumer review sites are much harsher: slow support, transfers between agents, payroll or state filing errors, and the wrong tier billed.
- Public prices: $79 on Basic, $124 on Plus
- No base fee and no published minimum headcount
- Built for companies with little or no HR team
- ✓The easiest PEO budget in this ranking
- ✓Fast onboarding for a founder running HR alone
- ✓Cheapest option at 5 and 15 employees on Basic
- ✗US employees only
- ✗Customers find reporting and the mobile app limited
- ✗Smaller choice of health plans than the largest PEOs
Our first pick for a US startup with its first ten hires. Before signing, ask Justworks whether it files state unemployment (SUI) under its own account in your states: that decides how painful your exit will be in two or three years.
Rippling PEO
Rippling sells its PEO on top of its HR platform: payroll and benefits (medical, dental, vision, 401(k), HSA, FSA, commuter). Its most useful argument for a startup is one Rippling calls unique: you can move off the PEO without replacing the system underneath. Your data, workflows and settings stay; you just switch to your own payroll and benefits.
Pricing is not published. Rippling promises "affordable and predictable rates", which does not help you build a budget. Some customers say they came to Rippling after a steep renewal hike at their previous PEO. Others point out that per-employee billing hurts when the team includes a lot of interns.
- Exit the PEO without changing software, per Rippling
- Payroll and benefits on the same HR platform
- 401(k), HSA and FSA in the benefits package
- ✓The cleanest PEO exit to plan for
- ✓One system of record before and after the PEO
- ✓Used by fast-growing startups such as Clay
- ✗No public pricing: quote only
- ✗Minimum headcount not stated on the official page
- ✗Per-employee billing adds up when the team includes many interns
The pick for a startup that already knows it will outgrow a PEO. Ask for a quote at today's headcount and at 50, and get the price of the platform alone after the exit in writing.
Remote
Remote has the lowest published PEO entry price we found: from $99 per employee per month, billed in USD, with a US bank account required. Its real edge for a startup is the other half of the product. When you hire your first engineer in Poland or Brazil, the same account runs an employer of record (EOR, a provider that becomes the legal employer where you have no entity), from $599 per employee per month on an annual contract.
Remote also runs a startup program: 15% off service fees for 12 months on EOR and contractors, unlimited hires. On one EOR hire that brings the bill from $7,188 to $6,109.80 for the year. There are no setup fees, but Remote can ask for a refundable reserve when you start.
- US PEO from $99: the lowest entry price in this ranking
- EOR in other countries from the same account
- Startup program: 15% off service fees for 12 months
- ✓One provider for US and international hires
- ✓Published prices, which is rare among PEOs
- ✓A bigger discount is possible if your VC is a Remote partner
- ✗US bank account required for the PEO
- ✗EOR pricing assumes an annual contract
- ✗A refundable reserve may be required at signup
The right pick once your hiring plan crosses a border. Ask for the startup discount before signing, and check whether your investor is on Remote's partner list.
Deel
Deel's US PEO starts at $125 per employee per month, covers all 50 states and lets you keep your own benefits broker. Its EOR costs $599 per employee per month, month-to-month, which matters if you are not sure a first international hire will last. Contractors are $49 a month and Contractor of Record $325, in the same tool.
Read the fine print on this year's PEO promotion: three months of platform fees free, but on a two-year minimum term, and the credit only lands at the end of the initial period. Cancel early and Deel bills list price for the whole term, credit included.
- PEO in all 50 states, with your own broker if you want
- EOR at $599 a month with no annual contract
- Contractors, EOR and PEO in one platform
- ✓Month-to-month EOR
- ✓Strong customer ratings, around 4.6 out of 5
- ✓Handles messy global teams well
- ✗PEO costs $26 more per employee than Remote
- ✗The PEO promotion locks you in for two years
- ✗PEO covers US W-2 employees only, with a US entity
Good for a global team that values flexibility. If you might leave the PEO within two years, skip the promotion and take the standard offer.
TriNet
TriNet charges a flat fee per employee per month, not a percentage of payroll, set by region, industry and company size. Rates on the pricing page are for new customers only. The catch for an early startup is the minimum headcount: TriNet requires one and does not publish the number.
Customer feedback follows a pattern. TriNet looks great under ten employees who cannot get a decent health quote on their own, then gets harder to justify as the company grows. Some customers left after falling below the minimum and finding the contract inflexible, others after the per-employee cost rose year after year.
- Flat per-employee fee, not a percentage of payroll
- Strong benefits and compliance score
- Three-step quote process
- ✓Predictable fee structure once quoted
- ✓Benefits that help recruiting
- ✓Rates set by region, industry and size
- ✗Minimum headcount, number not published
- ✗Costs reported to rise over the years
- ✗Little flexibility if headcount drops below the minimum
Worth a quote once your headcount is stable. Get the minimum and the below-minimum clause in writing before you sign.
ADP TotalSource
ADP TotalSource is the PEO arm of the payroll giant. It makes sense when your company already runs ADP payroll and you want to add group benefits without changing vendors. It scores well on benefits and compliance.
The weak point is price. Most negative reviews are about high, hard-to-read fees, and nothing is published. For a startup under ten people, the time spent negotiating often outweighs the gain.
- Backed by one of the largest payroll providers
- Strong benefits and compliance score
- Natural step up from ADP payroll
- ✓Familiar if you already run ADP
- ✓Large-company benefits
- ✓Payroll and PEO from the same vendor
- ✗No public pricing
- ✗Most negative reviews cite opaque pricing
- ✗No published price, quote only
Only worth it if you are already an ADP customer. Otherwise, start with a PEO that publishes its price.
What a PEO costs at 5 and 15 employees
Monthly service fees from public prices only: no salaries, no health premiums, no payroll taxes. As a market benchmark, PEOs land somewhere around $500 to $1,500 per employee per year, or 2% to 11% of payroll for providers that bill as a percentage.
5 employees
Justworks Basic: $395 a month. Remote: from $495. Justworks Plus, with group health plans: $620. Deel: $625. Rippling, TriNet and ADP TotalSource: quote only.
15 employees
Justworks Basic: $1,185 a month. Remote: from $1,485. Justworks Plus: $1,860. Deel: $1,875. The gap between cheapest and most expensive passes $8,000 a year, which is when quote-only PEOs become worth pricing.
Your first hire abroad
One EOR employee for 12 months: $7,188 at Remote or Deel. Remote with its 15% startup discount: $509.15 a month, $6,109.80 a year. Oyster lists $699 a month, or $7,188 a year with its full $1,200 startup discount.
- Compare the tier that unlocks health plans, not the entry price.
- Get quotes at today's headcount and at your 18-month plan.
- Ask for the minimum headcount and the below-minimum clause in writing.
- Look for term commitments hidden behind promotions.
- Add any refundable reserve to your starting cash plan.
Leaving your PEO without breaking payroll
A PEO gets expensive as you grow: the per-employee fee stacks up while your own payroll and a broker cost less per head. The exit usually happens between 25 and 75 employees. One payroll vendor cites a 70-person customer across 18 states whose projected 23% renewal hike dropped to 10% after leaving its PEO. Plan 8 to 12 weeks for the switch.
The steps
Check your notice period and aim for year-end
Step 1Contracts usually require 30 to 90 days' notice. Aim for December 31: leave mid-year and every employee gets two W-2s, and wage caps reset with the new filer.
- Typical notice
- 30 to 90 days
- Switch
- 8 to 12 weeks
Price the FICA reset
Step 2Social Security tax stops at a wage cap, $184,500 in 2026. Change the reporting employer mid-year and the counter restarts for your highest earners. On an engineering-heavy team, that shows up on the bill.
- 2026 wage base
- $184,500
Open your state unemployment accounts
Step 3Many PEOs file state unemployment (SUI) under their own account. When you leave, you open an account in every state where you have staff, and you do not necessarily keep the PEO's rate. Start with the states where most of your team sits.
- Where
- Every state with an employee
Avoid a gap in health coverage
Step 4PEO health plans run on a plan year. Leave mid-year and employees can lose deductibles they already paid. Start the new plan on the exact exit date, with a broker picked two months ahead.
- Broker
- Pick 2 months ahead
Reconcile payroll with your books
Step 5A PEO does not do your accounting. PEO reports still need to be reconciled with your general ledger. Do it before the exit, or the gaps surface at year-end close.
- When
- Before the exit
Other names you will see, and why they are not ranked
These providers show up in every list. They are not bad picks, but they fit a different situation than an early-stage startup.
The providers
Insperity: opaque pricing, strict minimum
Custom quoteInsperity customers complain about pricing transparency, a complex onboarding, uneven responsiveness and a minimum headcount applied strictly. Get the minimum in writing before any quote.
- Price
- Custom quote
- Score
- 3.6 out of 5
Gusto: payroll, not a PEO
MentionGusto appears in many PEO lists by mistake. It presents itself as a payroll platform and benefits broker and does not become co-employer. It can run your own payroll once you leave a PEO. We do not score it here.
- Type
- Payroll and broker, no co-employment
Oyster: an EOR with the best startup program
EOR onlyOyster has no US PEO, but if your first hires are abroad it is worth a look: EOR at $699 per employee per month, and up to $1,200 off per employee over the first 12 months for pre-seed, seed and Series A startups, or bootstrapped ones under 50 people. Ask at signup.
- EOR
- $699/employee/mo
- Score
- 3.8 out of 5
What founders wish they had known
Taken from official terms and customer feedback. They prevent the most expensive first-year mistakes.
The tips
Check CPEO status on the IRS list
ComplianceAn IRS-certified PEO (CPEO) is liable for federal employment taxes on wages it pays and posts a bond between $50,000 and $1,000,000. The public list is updated quarterly, with certified, suspended and revoked providers. Your contract should show the CPEO's exact name and EIN.
- Bond
- 5%, $50,000 to $1,000,000
Ask your VC about partner discounts
Before signingRemote offers more than its standard 15% when your investor is a partner. Ask before you open the account.
- Standard
- 15% for 12 months
Read the exit clause on Deel's promotion
TrapThree free months on a two-year term, credited at the end. Cancel early and you pay list price for the whole term. If an exit within two years is likely, take the standard offer.
- Term
- 2 years minimum
Compare the health tier, not the entry price
RecruitingAt Justworks, group health plans come with Plus at $124, not Basic at $79. Run your numbers on the tier you will actually buy.
- Justworks gap
- $45/employee/mo
Count interns and part-timers before you sign
BudgetPer-employee billing does not care about hours. Summer interns are billed like full-time staff. Ask how short contracts are billed.
- Billing
- Per employee, not per hour
Pick a PEO you can leave
StrategyIf your plan says 50 people in two years, the exit matters as much as the price. Rippling's pitch is exactly that; with others, ask what you keep (data, SUI rates, benefits) when you leave.
- Ask
- Data, SUI, benefits at exit
Different question? Go here
This page follows a startup's path. These pages cover other situations.
The general PEO ranking, 20 to 500 employees.
You are a small business, not a startupBest PEO for small businessReal cost at 3, 10 and 25 employees.
You hire in countries without an entityBest employer of record servicesEOR providers compared.
You leave the PEO and need payrollBest payroll softwareRun payroll in-house.
You need an HR systemBest HRIS softwareTime off, reviews, employee records.
You need to reconcile payroll with your booksBest accounting software for startupsClose the month without gaps.
PEO for startups · FAQ
Is a PEO worth it for a startup?
Usually yes between 2 and roughly 25 employees. A PEO gives you large-company health plans and handles payroll tax filings in every state, which a founder cannot do alone. The math flips as you grow: somewhere between 25 and 75 employees, your own payroll plus a broker often costs less.How much does a PEO cost for a 5-person startup?
Between $395 and $625 a month in service fees for PEOs with public pricing. Justworks Basic is $395, Remote from $495, Justworks Plus $620, Deel $625. Salaries, health premiums and payroll taxes come on top: these figures only cover the service.Do PEOs offer startup discounts?
A few do. Remote takes 15% off service fees for 12 months on EOR and contractors. Deel gives three months of PEO platform fees free, but on a two-year term. Oyster, an EOR, offers up to $1,200 per employee in year one to pre-seed, seed and Series A startups. Always ask before signing.When should a startup leave its PEO?
Most often between 25 and 75 employees, when the per-employee fee outweighs the benefits pricing. Give 60 to 90 days' notice and aim for December 31, so each employee gets a single W-2 and Social Security wage caps do not reset mid-year.What is a CPEO, and does it matter?
A CPEO is a PEO certified by the IRS. It becomes liable for federal employment taxes on wages it pays, and posts a bond of 5% of its liability, between $50,000 and $1,000,000. Check the provider on the IRS public list, updated every quarter, and make sure your contract shows its exact name and EIN.PEO or EOR: which one does my startup need?
A PEO if you have a US entity and US employees. An EOR if you hire in a country where you have no entity. Many startups use both: a PEO at home and an EOR for the first hires abroad, which is why Remote and Deel sell both.Is Gusto a PEO?
No. Gusto is a payroll platform and benefits broker; it does not become co-employer of your staff. It can run your own payroll once you leave a PEO, but it does not replace one at the start.Is there a minimum headcount for a PEO?
It depends on the provider. Justworks, Remote and Deel publish no minimum. TriNet requires one without publishing the number, and Insperity and ADP TotalSource are reported to set minimums too. Get the figure and the below-minimum clause in writing.
